My favorite poem for Children

The first time I read the poem attributed to Dorothy Nolte, I made a resolution that when I have children, I’ll practise what it teaches. I hope I won’t fail my children… Here’s the poem (I know most of you have even memorised it, but it’s good to be reminded once in a while)

If A Child Lives With. . .
by Dorothy Law Nolte

If a child lives with criticism, he learns to condemn.
If a child lives with hostility, he learns to fight.
If a child lives with fear, he learns to be apprehensive.
If a child lives with jealousy, he learns to feel guilt.
If a child lives with tolerance, he learns to be patient.
If a child lives with encouragement, he learns to be confident.
If a child lives with praise, he learns to be appreciative.
If a child lives with acceptance, he learns to love.
If a child lives with approval, he learns to like himself.
If a child lives with recognition, he learns that it is good to have a goal.
If a child lives with honesty, he learns what truth is.
If a child lives with fairness, he learns justice.
If a child lives with security, he learns to trust in himself and others .
If a child lives with friendliness, he learns the world is a nice place in which to live.
 

Jojo
Josh and Danielle
2 thoughts on “My favorite poem for Children

Leave a Reply

