It’s a Beautiful Day… The Sky is Blue!

No- the sky is not blue today. It’s actually overcast and grayish- and reflects my mood. I’m not sure if it’s hormonal but I just feel so hurried, overwhelmed and sometimes depressed these past days– last week, Jojo was admitted to the hospital because of a bad stomach flu or from drinking pool water from Mambukal resort. It was difficult because it was also the holiday season. I’m thankful that we were able to get out after three days and Jojo is in the pink of health now.

Recently, I am trying to make reflections of where I am now and how busy I am and things I missed because of my schedule. For instance, I was not able to attend our faculty Christmas party because I had a deadline to meet from my online research writing gig. While I can sacrifice my professional (in part-time capacity) life, I am trying my best to never sacrifice my children. Hence, I try to write as quickly as I could when they are busy with their activities or when asleep. For example, Joshua is in my lap peacefully sleeping while I am typing this post from bed. A few minutes ago, I just typed in the last sentence for a due project.

Right now— I am thinking of stopping for a while and to enjoy the day. Yes, the sky is gray but when Danielle sings- she always gaily and happily sings “it’s a beautiful day… the sky is blue!”…. It’s time to learn from my child— it’s a beautiful day and the sky is gray blue!

***************

“Your children are not your children. They are the sons and daughters of life’s longing for itself. They come through you, but not from you.
And though they are with you, yet they belong not to you.
You may house their bodies, but not souls.
You may strive to be like them, but seek not to make them like you.
You are the bows from which your children as living arrows are sent forth.
The Archer sees the mark upon the path of the infinite, and He bends you with His might that His arrows may go swift and far.
Let your bending in the archer’s hand be for gladness; for even as He loves the arrow that flies, so He loves also the bow that is stable.”

– Kahlil Gibran from The Prophet

2 thoughts on “It’s a Beautiful Day… The Sky is Blue!

Leave a Reply

