Running and running and running some more…

“Every morning in Africa, a gazelle wakes up. It knows it must run faster than the fastest lion or it will be killed. Every morning a lion wakes up. It knows it must outrun the slowest gazelle or it will starve to death. It doesn’t matter whether you are a lion or a gazelle: when the sun comes up, you’d better be running.”- Roger Bannister

Oval track at Panaad Park Stadium

Yesterday, I made my ‘debut’ in the oval track- walking (running for only 1/100th of the way) on rubberized track- to keep to my promise of staying fit- no more ifs, no more buts. I walked for almost an hour, including the 20 minutes walk home from Panaad Park Stadium. By the way, this was where the Southeast Asian game was held in 2005 or 2006. The picture above shows the rubberized track. While my goal of running a marathon would be a far fetched dream, I am seriously taking some steps to keep myself healthy. I will be interspersing my routine with Grace’s recommended short, intense workouts (see previous post) probably on MWF and TTHS would be spent brisk walking. I did run for less than a minute- and I was gasping for air! I can’t believe I could be this unhealthy. I used to jog on the hills of my hometown which really has a good overview of the city. But that happened 10 years ago-so I know, I shouldn’t question why I am so out of wind now!

I believe moms should make it a point to stay fit not only to make us feel good about ourselves- but we owe it to our children to live a healthy lifestyle so we could be there for them every time they need us. This would be especially true in my case where I have to take care of a toddler, a preschool age child and a 7 months old baby where running around the house is a norm and not an exception!

One thought on “Running and running and running some more…

  1. When I started being active again, I couldn’t even run for 30 seconds without gasping for breath. But there’s really no point in running and aiming to run longer times unless you aim to join the marathon. 🙂

    Do this instead: warm up by brisk walking for 2 minutes, SPRINT for 20 seconds, walk for 20 seconds repeat that sprint-walk for 10 times then cool down by walking again for 2 minutes.

    Check how you sweat! 🙂

    Sprint means giving your all, in just 20 secs. Followed by active rest (walking). Google Tabata method so you’ll know.

    It burns fat 9x faster and more effectively than traditional, time consuming and exhausting steady stage jogging.

Leave a Reply

