Thursday Thirteen # 1

thursdaybanner16.png

Here’s my shot to Thursday Thirteen! Inspired from Grace of Sandier Pasture, I will be participating in Thursday 13 every week. Since I’ve done a quite long list about myself at the beginning of this blog; I thought of starting with a list of my 13 favorite books:

1. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

– I absolutely adore this Christmas tale of how a miser like Ebenezer Scrooge could turn in to “a jolly good fellow” in the end.

2. The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

– I did cry the first time I read the book. Very profound, well written and a good reminder to never let go of our dreams and pursue the things that feed the heart.

3. Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom

– I also cried on this one. Makes us remember the essential things in life and how to cherish relationships with our loved ones.

4. The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen Covey

– Great principles to live by.

5. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

– While there are a number of issues tackled in this novel, I particularly like how the kids in the story were raised by their father. When I read the story some years ago, I reflected that if I will have children, I want them to be as open and as questioning of the world around them just like Scout and Atticus.

6. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

– For a children’s book, it amazes me how it could contain a lot of moral lessons too for adults. Timeless.

7. Bata, Bata, Paano ka Ginawa by Lualhati Bautista

– I’ll not dare translate the title to English but this book has been awarded a Palanca Award for literature. Highly philosophical book that focuses on how a mother fought for her dignity, ideology and mostly- for her children.

8. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

– Another classic children’s book that has moral lessons not only for young people but for the young at heart too.

9. The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran

– Full of wisdom, this book is a good guide on everyday living.

10. The Christmas Box by Richard Paul Evans

– Sometime ago, I saw a t.v. telecast of The Christmas Box and was really touched by the heartwarming story. I grabbed a copy of the book- and reread it. Very beautiful message about families.

11. Timepiece by Richard Paul Evans

– Another touching story about family values by Richard Paul Evans. Loved this book too!

12. The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery
– I like this bestselling novel too. A lot of lessons for living.

13. Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Richard Bach
– We were in High school when the English teacher of my younger brother asked them to read this book. I borrowed it and got hooked on the amazing tale of Jonathan Livingston Seagull. Beautifully written with a lot of wisdom.

Now, it’s your turn!…What are your favorite books?

8 thoughts on “Thursday Thirteen # 1

  1. Hello Jenn and Andi & Stien,

    Thank you for dropping by! Oh yes- I’m excited in doing the Thursday 13 series.

    Jenn, you are absolutely right! they say ‘never judge the book by its movie!’ hehe

    Andi & Stien, I love books because they not only entertain us but remind us too of life’s important lessons.

  2. Hello cocoa,

    #7 book is authored by a renowned Filipino author… She writes good books.

    Hello nicholas,

    Would love to try reading A Christmas Carol by candlelight! That would be nice for a change!

    Hello grace,

    Thanks! your blog inspired me to write thursday 13 too 🙂

    Hello TNP!

    Oh yes- i still have many books half-finished! I mean a-third finished! hehehe…It’s so easy to get lost in the blogging world.

Leave a Reply

